People’s Conference – List of Guests

Monday July 2nd * 6:30 – *8:30pm 567 South 28th Street, San Diego, California 92113
Workers’ Rights, Outsourcing, Wal-Mart & Gentrification

  • Benjamin Prado – Member of Union del Barrio, San Diego
  • Celeste Drake – AFL-CIO
  • Genoveva Aguilar – Proyecto de Casas Saludables
  • Christian Ramírez – The director of the Southern Border Communities Coalition.
  • Colectivo Zapatista
  • Petra Mata – La Fuerza Unida
  • Viola Casares – La Fuerza Unida

Tuesday, July 3rd * 6:00 – 9:00pm 2004 Park Blvd., San Diego, California 92101
IP, GMOs & Healthcare AND Women & the TPP

  • Francisco Vera – Vice President of the ONG Derechos Digitales (aka The Digital Rights NGO) in Santiago, Chile.
  • Kevin J. Green – Professor of Law at Thomas Jefferson School of Law.
  • Maira Sutton – Maira Sutton is the International Intellectual Property Coordinator at the Electronic
  • Frontier Foundation (EFF).
  • Sanya Reid Smith – Legal Advisor & Senior Researcher, Third World Network, Penang, Malaysia.
  • Cathy Mendonça – Cathy Mendonca is a Residential Advocate at the YWCA of San Diego’s Becky’s House and is the newest member of Af3rm San Diego.
  • Kathy Sorrel – Occupy San Diego
  • Petra Mata – La Fuerza Unida
  • Viola Casares – La Fuerza Unida

Thursday, July 5th * 6:00 – 9:00pm 2004 Park Blvd., San Diego, California 92101
Geopolitics & Empire AND Indigenous Rights

  • Arnie Saiki – Coordinator of Moana Nui : The Pacific Peoples, their Lands and Economies, a three-day summit in November 2011 in Honolulu. Coordinator of Imipono Projects.
  • Dave Gapp – Lieutenat Colonel Rtd. U.S. Air Force. Member of Veterans for Peace
  • Herb Shore – Retired professor from San Diego state University. He will speak on : the Tijuana-San Diego Region, globalization, NAFTA and cross-border solidarity.
  • Kuusela Hilo – ILPS-US Chapter Country Co-Coordinator and member of the International Coordinating Committee of the ILPS.
  • Victor Menotti – Executive Director of Internatinal Forum on Globalization
  • Gustavo Esteva – A founder of the Universidad de la Tierra in Oaxaca, Mexico. He is also a former corporate executive, a former guerrilla, a former high-ranking official in the government of President Echeverría, and an advisor with the Zapatista Army for National Liberation (EZLN) in Chiapas for the negotiations with the government.
  • Mahina Rapu – An elder from Rapa nui (Easter Island), health practioner and independent activist
  • Steve Newcomb – Shawnee/Lenape, author of “Pagans in the Promised Land: Decoding the Doctrine of Christian Discovery.”
  • Stan Rodriguez – Kumeyaay Community College
  • Manlio Cesar Correa – Director of the Instituto Binacional de la Fronteras.
  • Paul O’Toko – Executive Director, Indigenous Stewards International
  • Theresa Jaranilla – Theresa Jaranilla is the Southwest Coordinator for BAYAN-USA, an alliance of progressive Filipino groups in the U.S.

Thursday, July 5th * 6:00 – 9:00pm
Local Economies & Sustainability AND Biodiversity & Climate Change

  • Andrea Carter – Attorney from San Diego and member of the Ant Hill Collective an egalitarian housing community.
  • Esteban del Río – Associate Professor in the Department of Communication Studies at the University of San Diego.
  • Jane Kelsey – Professor of law at the University of Auckland, in New Zealand, and a prominent critic of globalization. She is a key member of the Action Resource Education Network of Aotearoa (Arena). She is also actively involved in campaigning for the New Zealand Government’s full recognition of the Treaty of Waitangi.
  • Jeeni Criscenzo – Executive Director of Amikas. She will speak on Common Credits.
  • Dr. Murtaza Baxamusa – Director of Planning and Development for the Family Housing Corporation of the San Diego County Building and Construction Trades Council, as well an Adjunct Faculty with the Sol Price School of Public Policy at the University of Southern California.
  • Ben Burkett –President of the National Family Farm Coalition (NFFC) in the U.S., and a cooperative-marketing-specialist member of the Federation of Southern Cooperatives Land Assistance Fund. Former Indian Springs, current director of the Mississippi Association of Cooperatives, the local arm of The Federation of Southern Cooperatives. Ben represents NFFC on the Via Campesina Food Sovereignty C omission and is a board member of the Community Food Security Coalition (CFSC).
  • Holly Hellerstedt – Field Director, Canvass for a Cause, Board member Calirifrnia Student Sustainability Coalition
  • Ilana Solomon – National trade representative for the Sierra Club.
  • Lori Wallach – Lori Wallach is Director of Public Citizen’s Global Trade Watch division.

Friday, July 6 * 6:30pm – 8:30pm
Food Freedom or NAFTA on Steroids?

  • Ben Burkett, President of the National Family Farm Coalition
  • plus more

Saturday, July 7 * 3:00 – 5:00pm
Fukushima & Nuclear Power

  • Ms. Chieko Shiina – experienced activist and dedicated organic farmer in Kawamata village of Fukushima before March 11th, 2001. One of her major contributions to Japan’s national anti-nukes organizing is that she organized the sit-in in front of the Ministry of Economy and Industry from September 11th, 2011. Further, she organized 100 women from Fukushima to set up “Women’s 10 months and 10 days sit-in” from late October, which later became both a symbolic and physical space where women from all over Japan came to communicate and organize. Co-sponsored with San Diego Veterans for Peace.

Plus more tba